Cornelius Cardew / {instead} ensemble

UWAGA! Impreza już się odbyła

22 marca 2017 (środa)

Nowa Kolonia  mapa

Gdańsk, al. Grunwaldzka 51
10 zł

Cornelius CARDEW (1936-1981)
Treatise, version for three performers (1963-1967)

{instead} ensemble:
Oleg Gudachev, clarinet, saxophone
Natalia Soloveva, melodica, voice
Elizaveta Akbalkan, violin, objects

Treatise is a musical composition by British composer Cornelius Cardew. Treatise is a graphic musical score comprising 193 pages of lines, symbols, and various geometric or abstract shapes that eschew conventional musical notation. Implicit in the title is a reference to the philosophy of Ludwig Wittgenstein, which was of particular inspiration to Cardew in composing the work. The score neither contains nor is accompanied by any explicit instruction to the performers in how to perform the work. Cardew worked on the composition from 1963 to 1967.

Although the score allows for absolute interpretive freedom (no one interpretation will sound like another), the work is not normally played spontaneously, as Cardew had previously suggested that performers devise in advance their own rules and methods for interpreting and performing the work. There are, however, almost infinite possibilities for the interpretation of Treatise that fall within the implications of the piece and general principles of experimental music performance in the late 1960s, including presentation as visual art and map-reading.

About ensemble
Founded in 2016 in St. Petersburg, {instead} ensemble is active in various facets of contemporary music.

The ensemble mainly explores three directions of musical activity: discovering and performing new music; compositions of mostly late 20th century (historical direction); collective improvisation. Our line-up is flexible to reflect the ideology of a given project., featuring musicians of various backgrounds (contemporary classical&experimental music, improvisation, live art performance etc.), which in turn influences the repertoire.

We have participated in concerts within the SoundArtLab project of the Baltic branch of State Contemporary Art Centre, the Fifth International St. Petersburg Cultural Forum, Musical Evenings at the Academy of Art, Sound Around Kaliningrad.

The ensemble has performed at various venues in St.Petersburg, Kaliningrad, Minsk, Moscow, Gdansk, and Hamburg, together with musicians such as Danil Akimov, Yaroslav Zemlyansky, Vladimir Kanatchikov, Darya Ponomareva, and joined the St. Petersburg Improvisers Orchestra to perform Spatial Composition #3 by Vladimir Gorlinsky.

The composers whose works have been premiered by {instead} ensemble include Anatoly Korolev, Daniil Pilchen, Svetlana Lavrova, Artur Zobnin, Ivan Abramov, Elina Lebedze, Dmitry Timofeev, Elizaveta Akbalkan, Alexandra Korableva, Oleg Gudachev, Natalia Solovieva, and Dmitry Shchukin.


tickets 10 pln
Kid Friendly
Najnowsze posty
Kolonia Artystów — https://www.facebook.com/events/2232287123663541/
 poster by SG
19 godz.
Czytaj więcej
Kolonia Artystów — Kolonia Artystów udostępnił(a) link.
9 marca o 19:42
Czytaj więcej
Kolonia Artystów — {instead} ensemble:
 Oleg Gudachev, clarinet, saxophone
 Natalia Soloveva, melodica, voice
 Elizaveta Akbalkan, violin, objects
9 marca o 10:44
Czytaj więcej
Zobacz wszystkie posty
Dotrzyj do większej liczby osób, udostępniając wydarzenie
Spraw, aby ludzie dowiedzieli się o wydarzeniu, udostępniając je w aktualnościach.
Udostępnij wydarzenie
Christian Meaas Svendsen + Natan Kryszk

19 października 2017 (czwartek) godz. 19:00

Wstęp wolny
M8N / ULSSS - koncert

4 listopada 2017 (sobota) godz. 20:00

Wstęp wolny
Dodaj zdjęcie


Dodaj opinię

Dodaj opinię


Klikając "wyślij", akceptujesz regulamin dodawania opinii.
13.10.2017 wprowadzono zmiany w regulaminie.

Kalendarz imprez


Najczęściej czytane

Zdjęcia z imprez